California District 72 History

California District 72 was created in 2007 by breaking off the leagues in the western portion of District 24 in Riverside County. In its inaugural season, District 72 had seven chartered Little Leagues that it worked with. Those leagues were Corona American Little League, Corona National Little League, Eastvale Little League, Jurupa American Little League, Jurupa National Little League, Norco Little League, and West Corona Little League. Over the years, Jurupa American and Jurupa National joined together to form Jurupa Valley Little League and Corona American and West Corona combined leagues and kept the Corona American name.

The first Little League Baseball Division District 72 Champion was Corona National Little League. Corona National Little League has gone on to win five more Little League Baseball Division District Championships in 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2019.

Eastvale Little League has tied Corona National with six Little League Baseball District Championships in 2011, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018. and 2021.

Jurupa American Little League is the only other league to win a District 72 Little League Baseball Division District Championship in 2016.

Leagues from District 72 have had great success during the Section 9 Softball and Baseball tournaments. Each league has at least one Section 9 Championship in either softball or baseball from one of the eleven possible tournaments. Corona National Little League won the Little League Section 9 Tournament in 2009, 2010, 2012, and 2013.